ISBC 2017


Welcome to ISBC2017

You are cordially invited to the 2nd International Symposium on Biofunctional Chemistry (ISBC2017), which will be held during December 14 to 16, 2017 in Kyoto, Japan. ISBC2017 is a highly active venue for exchange of latest knowledge concerning biofunctional chemistry among researchers from all over the world.
Biofunctional chemistry is a multidisciplinary research area involving large number of scientists from chemical biology, protein science, nucleic acid chemistry, bioinorganic chemistry, material science, supramolecular chemistry, etc. Division of Biofunctional Chemistry, The Chemical Society of Japan has been contributing extensively to development of this bio-relevant chemical research area in Japan. It is thus our great pleasure to organize ISBC2017, and to be able to welcome many excellent researchers from the related research fields. We anticipate fruitful discussions on the six different sessions including 30 invited speakers and many poster presenters.
Kyoto is the most captivating and culturally rich city in Japan. There are many famous temples and shrines, including 17 UNESCO world heritage sites. We welcome all of you to visit us in Kyoto and look forward to letting you enjoy the beauty of Kyoto at early winter season.

Hisakazu Mihara, Itaru Hamachi,
Chair of Organizing Committe

Flyer (PDF:1.22MB)

Kihada Hall, Kyoto University

Organizing Committe


  • Hisakazu Mihara (Tokyo Institute of Technology)


  • Itaru Hamachi (Kyoto University)


  • Hiroyuki Asanuma (Nagoya University)
  • Shinobu Itoh (Osaka University)
  • Takehiko Wada (Tohoku University)
  • Shin Aoki (Tokyo University of Science)
  • Misaki Homma (Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited.)
  • Kuniharu Ijiro (Hokkaido University)
  • Toshihiro Ihara (Kumamoto University)
  • Takafumi Ueno (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Yasuteru Urano (The University of Tokyo)
  • Akio Ojida (Kyushu University)
  • Takashi Ohtsuki (Okayama University)
  • Takeaki Ozawa (The Universty of Tokyo)
  • Shinsuke Sando (The University of Tokyo)
  • Keiko Shimamoto (Suntory Foundation for Life Science)
  • Masahiro Takagi (Japan Advanced Institute Science and Technology)
  • Shinya Tsukiji (Nagoya Institute of Technology)
  • Shun Hirota (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Hiroshi Fujii (Nara Women’s University)
  • Koichi Fukase (Osaka University)
  • Hiroshi Murakami (Nagoya University)
  • Shin Mizukami (Tohoku University)
  • Yusuke Takezawa (The University of Tokyo)
  • Tatsuya Nabeshima (University of Tsukuba)


Deadline for advance registration: November 10, 2017
Deadline for registration of poster presentation: October 31, 2017

Abstract for Poster Presentation

Send your abstract to ISBC2017 office (
Deadline for abstract submission: November 10, 2017